MONTANA SR22 INSURANCE
Montana state law requires some drivers to file “proof of financial responsibility” following a license suspension or revocation. Proof of financial responsibility is generally provided to Montana’s Motor Vehicle Division through a form called an SR-22 certificate of insurance. The most common reason a person must file an SR22 (high-risk insurance) is for a license suspension related to a drunk driving offense or convictions related to failure to maintain adequate insurance. In most cases, if a person is required to file proof of financial responsibility, they must keep the certificate for a period of three (3) years. Failure to pay policy premiums for the duration of the three (3) years will result in a cancellation of the certificate and could result in additional penalties.
Montana’s Liability Insurance Requirements
Montana drivers must maintain liability insurance. Under Montana Code Annotated (MCA), Section 61-6-103, the mandatory minimum insurance coverage per incident is:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death for one person
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death for two or more persons
- $20,000 for property damages
GET QUOTE TODAY
GET YOUR QUOTE FAST
If you are caught driving without insurance, you could face harsh penalties, including a fine of up to $500, six (6) months in county jail, the suspension of your vehicle registration, and the suspension of your driving privileges.
Montana Penalties for Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
Impaired driving is a serious offense in Montana. If you are caught driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI), you could face up to six (6) months in jail on a first offense. Additionally, fines (not including court costs) will be $600 - $1,000, and your license will be suspended for six (6) months from the date of conviction.
Montana offers a number of programs for people arrested for driving under the influence. Following a first offense DUI conviction you will be court-ordered to participate in the A – C – T phases program which requires you to complete a mandatory chemical dependency Assessment, you must complete a chemical dependency education course, and you may be required to complete Treatment depending on the circumstances of the case. Additionally, Montana offers a 24-7 Sobriety Program for people charged with a 2nd or subsequent DUI.
Montana’s Ignition Interlock Device (IID) Requirements
A court may order the installation of an ignition interlock device if a driver is convicted of driving under the influence (DUI). While not mandatory unless court-ordered, the installation of an ignition interlock device may enable an offender to be issued a probationary license. If eligible, a DUI offender must have the ignition interlock device (IID) installed by a state-approved provider and must only operate a vehicle with a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device installed.
Penalties for DUI Conviction
|Jail Time||24 hours to 6 months||7 days to 1 year||30 days to 1 year||13 months to 2 years|
|Fine(s)||$600 to $1,000||$1,200 to $2,000||$2,500 to $5,000||$5,000 to $10,000|
|Driver's License Suspension||6 months||1 year||1 year||1 year|
Get your Montana License Reinstated Today
If your license was suspended or revoked due to a drunk driving conviction, you might be eligible for reinstatement with the filing of an SR22 certificate of insurance. No matter what the circumstances of your license suspension, our leading SR22 experts can help you get your driving privileges reinstated. Our knowledgeable agents will work one-on-one with you to determine your reinstatement requirements and get you enrolled in the proper programs. Contact Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions today at 844.580.7525 for a free SR22 insurance quote.
In addition to SR22 insurance policies, we also have great rates for:
Auto | Business | Homeowners | Motorcycle | Renters | RV | SR22 | IID