Wisconsin SR22 Insurance
Filing your Wisconsin SR-22
The Wisconsin Department of Transportation (WisDOT) requires drivers to carry minimum liability insurance coverage in the amounts of:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 total bodily injury
- $10,000 property damage
In certain circumstances, the State will require proof of this insurance in a certificate known as an SR-22. Proof of financial responsibility shows the WisDOT that you have the minimum liability insurance coverage required by law.
GET QUOTE TODAY
GET YOUR QUOTE FAST
Wisconsin SR-22 Requirements
The WisDOT requires proof of insurance under the following circumstances:
- To obtain an occupational license or to reinstate driving privileges after revocation
- To reinstate driving privileges after a damage judgment or after violating the uninsured motorists/safety responsibility law
- If you are under the age of 18 and do not have a sponsor
You must maintain proof of insurance for three years. Canceling your policy within those three years will result in the revocation of your driving privileges. The most common reason that an SR-22 certificate is required is after your driving privileges are suspended due to a charge of operating while intoxicated (OWI).
In the State of Wisconsin, you cannot operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. If you are over the age of 21 and have a blood alcohol concentration of .08 or higher, you are considered in violation of the law. Furthermore, if you have three or more prior OWI convictions, you may not operate a vehicle with a BAC of .02 or higher. Drivers that are under the age of 21 must maintain "absolute sobriety." Failure to obey these laws can have serious, lifelong consequences. You can face jail time, high fines, an alcohol program requirement, and a license suspension. In 2009, the state legislature passed Wisconsin Act 100 requiring the installation of ignition interlock devices (IIDs) in a number of circumstances.
Wisconsin IID Requirements
The Wisconsin Act 100 mandates the installation of an ignition interlock device for:
- All repeat OWI Offenders
- All OWI Offenders who refuse a chemical test
- All first-time OWI offenders with a BAC of .15 or greater
The IID must be installed by a certified provider in the State of Wisconsin and must remain on all vehicles owned by or registered to the offender for a minimum of one year. Along with the IID requirement, Drivers may be required to file proof of insurance. It is not required after a first DUI offense. You will not need to file proof of insurance if your operating privilege was revoked for a first offense Operating While Intoxicated (OWI).
Get your Wisconsin SR-22 Quote Today!
If you were arrested for a Wisconsin OWI, you need to act fast to reinstate your driving privileges. Breathe Easy Insurance is here to help. Our knowledgeable agents can walk you through the process and will send proof of insurance quickly. We understand that this can be a stressful time for you and your family. You should not have to go through it alone. We offer affordable SR-22 insurance certificates and will assist you in fulfilling all requirements to get your license reinstated. Contact our offices today or fill out your information below to get a free, no-hassle SR22 quote.
In addition to SR22 insurance policies, we also have great rates for:
Auto | Business | Homeowners | Motorcycle | Renters | RV | SR22 | IID