IOWA SR22 INSURANCE
How to Reinstate your Driving Privileges after an Iowa OWI
If your license is suspended or revoked because of a conviction for Operating While Intoxicated, the Iowa Department of Transportation (Iowa DOT) will require you to file a certificate of automobile liability insurance. This certificate is known as an SR-22 and shows that you have the mandatory-minimum liability coverage.
An SR-22 certificate must remain on file with the Iowa DOT for a minimum of two years. If you cancel or fail to renew your premium within that time, you could be subject to additional penalties, including the subsequent revocation of your driving privileges.
Iowa OWI Conviction
If you are convicted of Operating While Intoxicated in Iowa, you can face a number of consequences including jail time, high fines, an alcohol education program requirement, and a license suspension.
GET QUOTE TODAY
On a first offense where a chemical test indicates that your blood alcohol concentration was .08 or more or there was the presence of a controlled substance, you will face a license revocation of 180 days. To be eligible for a temporary restricted license, you must install an ignition interlock device on all vehicles you own or operate.
SR-22 Statutory Limits
- $20K Bodily injury or death of one person
- $40K Bodily injury or death of two or more persons
- $15K Property damage
Penalties for OWI Conviction
Jail Time: 48 hours to 1 year
Fines: $625 - $1,250
Driver's License Suspension: 180 days to 1 year
Jail Time: 7 days to 2 years
Fines: $1,875 - $6,250
Driver's License Suspension: 1 to 2 years
Jail Time: 30 days to 5 years
Fines: $3,125 - $9,375
Driver's License Suspension: 6 years
Iowa IID Requirements
Nearly every state now has IID requirements following an arrest or conviction for operating a vehicle while intoxicated. In Iowa, if you are over the age of 21 and have your license suspended due to a first offense OWI, you may apply for a temporary restricted license after the installation of an IID. The IID must be installed for 180 days, the duration of your period of revocation. For a second offense, you must install an IID for one year to apply for a temporary restricted license. Also, all drivers with whose licenses are suspended due to an OWI will have to file an SR22 before receiving their temporary restricted license.
Ready to Get Back on the Road
If you have had your license suspended or revoked, you need to contact Breathe Easy Insurance. Our knowledgeable agents will help you get your driving privileges reinstated quickly. We understand how difficult and overwhelming this time can be. Breathe Easy offers affordable Georgia SR-22 and SR-22A insurance. Call our office today at 866.822.7755 for more information.