Connecticut SR22 INSURANCE
Filing Proof of Financial Responsibility in Connecticut
SR-22 may be required at the discretion of the Commissioner of the DMV in certain circumstances.
Connecticut Liability Insurance Requirements
According to the State of Connecticut Insurance Department, all motorists must purchase liability insurance, which covers bodily injury and property damage. The mandatory minimum coverage limits for the State of Connecticut are:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $25,000 per accident for property damage
Failure to carry the mandatory minimum liability insurance can result in significant penalties from the DMV.
GET QUOTE TODAY
GET YOUR QUOTE FAST
Failure to Maintain Insurance
Your driving privileges may be immediately suspended or revoked for failure to maintain proof of financial responsibility.
Operating Under the Influence in Connecticut
In Connecticut, driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is a serious crime with severe consequences. Two separate cases originate from an OUI arrest. The first is an administrative per se hearing through the DMV. This hearing is solely to determine whether your license will be suspended for failing or refusing a chemical alcohol test. The second is a criminal case that will decide whether or not you have violated the law
Other penalties for a first offense Connecticut OUI include:
- 48 hours or more jail time and 100 hours of community service
- Minimum fine of $500
- Ignition Interlock Device (IID) Installation Requirement
Connecticut Ignition Interlock Device (IID) Installation Requirements
If you are convicted of Operating Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs in Connecticut after January 1, 2012, the state requires you to install an ignition interlock device. The Ignition Interlock Device Program allows drivers to reinstate their driving privileges upon eligibility with proof of IID installation. To have your license reinstated, you must submit an application, contact a Connecticut-approved IID vendor, and submit the form. You must pay a $175.00 restoration fee and a $100.00 IID administration fee.
Getting Your License Back
Has your license been suspended due to a Connecticut OUI or insurance-related offense? Breathe Easy Insurance is here to help. Our licensed agents will help you get back on the road quickly. In most cases, proof of financial responsibility can be filed with the DMV within minutes. Call now for a free SR-22 quote. Our knowledgeable staff will help you with all of your licensing and insurance needs, including finding an approved IID vendor, obtaining proper insurance, and filing all of the necessary forms. Contact our office today and find out why we are America's SR22 Insurance Experts.
In addition to SR22 insurance policies, we also have great rates for:
Auto | Business | Homeowners | Motorcycle | Renters | RV | SR22 | IID