TENNESSEE SR22 INSURANCE
Filing Proof of Future Financial Responsibility in Tennessee
The Tennessee Department of Safety requires the filing of an SR-22 insurance certificate under certain circumstances. This proof of future financial responsibility is generally for high-risk drivers who have had their license suspended for driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while uninsured. Tennessee requires an SR-22 to remain on file for three (3) years but can be required for a total of five (5) years from the date of your suspension.
Tennessee Financial Responsibility Laws
Tennessee requires all motor vehicle operators to carry liability insurance. The mandatory minimum limits of liability car insurance are:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 bodily injury per accident
- $15,000 property damage per accident
GET QUOTE TODAY
GET YOUR QUOTE FAST
If you are unable to demonstrate proof of financial responsibility, you may lose your driving privileges. It is imperative that you follow all state insurance laws to avoid severe penalties.
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Tennessee
A license suspension due to driving under the influence (DUI) is the most common reason that people must file an SR-22 or proof of future financial responsibility. To reinstate your driving privileges after most alcohol-related offenses, you will have to pay a reinstatement fee in addition to filing your SR-22 with the Financial Responsibility Division of the Department of Safety.
If you are convicted of a first offense Tennessee DUI you may face:
- Jail time
- Subsequent license revocation
- Compulsory alcohol and drug treatment program
- $350 to $1500 fine
- Required Ignition Interlock Installation
Tennessee Ignition Interlock Device (IID) Requirements
To deter repeat DUI offenders, the Tennessee Department of Safety & Homeland Security has implemented an Ignition Interlock Program. Installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) can be mandatory (court-ordered) or voluntary in order to reinstate your driving privileges. The IID must be installed by a state-approved provider. Failure to provide proof of installation can result in additional sanctions.
|Jail Time||48 hours to 12 months||45 days to 12 months||120 days to 12 months||150 days to 12 months|
|Fine(s)||$350 to $1,500||$600 to $3,500||$1,100 to $10,000||$3,000 to $15,000|
|Driver's License Suspension||1 year||2 years||6 years||8 years|
*May require community service
*Penalties the same for test refusal
Get Started Today with Breathe Easy
Was your license suspended due to a DUI or driving while uninsured? Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions can help. In most cases, we can file proof of financial responsibility within minutes, getting you back on the road quicker, with less hassle. Our agents are highly-trained and will walk you through the reinstatement process. Contact Breathe Easy today and get a free SR-22 quote.
In addition to SR22 insurance policies, we also have great rates for:
Auto | Business | Homeowners | Motorcycle | Renters | RV | SR22 | IID