MAINE SR22 INSURANCE
The Bureau of Motor Vehicles in the State of Maine requires drivers to provide proof of financial responsibility through an SR-22 certificate of insurance after a judgment suspension. An SR-22 certificate of insurance provides the Bureau of Motor Vehicles with the assurance that you will maintain the required insurance coverage for the future. The most common reason that a person must file an SR22 form is because of a conviction related to drunk driving.
Maine Insurance Requirements
The State of Maine requires all vehicles to maintain liability coverage. The mandatory minimum liability insurance coverage limits are:
- $50,000 per person for bodily injury
- $100,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $25,000 for property damage
A driver may also carry a Combined Single Limit of $125,000 to meet the mandatory minimum requirements. Furthermore, Maine law requires that all vehicles carry a minimum of $2,000 per person in medical payments coverage.
Failure to maintain the mandatory minimum liability coverage can result in severe consequences, including high fines, suspension of your driving privileges, and a criminal conviction.
GET QUOTE TODAY
Need SR22 Insurance?
Operating Under the Influence (OUI) in Maine
In the State of Maine, if you are caught driving with a blood alcohol content of 0.08 percent or more, you may be convicted of operating under the influence (OUI). State law allows the Secretary of State to immediately suspend your license based solely on an arrest for an OUI using the police result and chemical test results. A first offense with no aggravating factors, you could face a license suspension of 150 days and a fine of $500. If you have a blood alcohol content of 0.15 percent or more, were traveling 30 mph or more above the speed limit, attempted to elude an officer, or had a passenger under the age of 21, you could face jail time on a first offense. If you refuse a chemical breath or blood test, even on a first offense, you could face a license suspension of at least 275 days. Second or subsequent OUI offenders could face multiple years without their driving privileges.
Restoring Your Driving Privileges with an Ignition Interlock Device (IID)
Under certain circumstances, a driver who committed an OUI offense may be eligible to restore their driving privileges early with the installation of an ignition interlock device (IID). On a first offense OUI, a person who elects to install an IID may have their driving privileges reinstated after a 30-day hard suspension. They must maintain the device for the duration of the 150-day suspension. In order to qualify for early reinstatement, you must receive approval from the Secretary of State. You can file an Ignition Interlock Petition Form with the Bureau of Motor Vehicles. With the petition, you must submit a $50.00 application fee and complete the driver education, evaluation, and treatment program (D.E.E.P.).
PENALTIES FOR DUI CONVICTION
|Jail Time||-||48 hours minimum||96 hours minimum||7 days minimum||12 days minimum||30 days minimum||40 days minimum||6 months minimum|
|Fine(s)||$500||$500||$600 minimum||$700 minimum||$900 minimum||$1,100 minimum||$1,400 minimum||$2,100 minimum|
|Driver's License Suspension||150 days||150 days||275 days||3 years||3 years||6 years||6 years||8 years|
Get Started Today
Contact Breathe Easy Insurance today for your free Maine SR22 insurance quote. Compare rates and see how affordable SR-22 insurance can be. Our experienced staff can assist you with all of your licensing needs, including finding a state-approved Ignition Interlock provider and filing the appropriate forms for early restoration of your driving privileges. Call our offices now at 866.822.7755 and get back on the road sooner.