NEVADA SR22 INSURANCE
The State of Nevada requires you to file proof of financial responsibility (SR-22) under a number of circumstances. Generally, it is needed when you are considered a "high risk" driver and the Department of Motor Vehicles in Nevada wants to ensure that you will maintain the mandatory-minimum insurance liability coverage.
Minimum Insurance Requirements in Nevada
$25,000 - Bodily injury or death of one person
$50,000 - Bodily injury or death of two or more persons
$20,000 - Property damage
Contrary to popular belief, an SR-22 is not a type of insurance, but rather a certificate furnished by an insurance agent. The document must specify whether it is for vehicles owned by the driver or solely operated by the driver. No matter what, you must carry the insurance for a period of three (3) years, according to NRS 485.3075. Your license will be suspended immediately if your policy is canceled or terminated within those three years, and there is no re-establishment of proof.
GET QUOTE TODAY
GET YOUR QUOTE FAST
Nevada Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Charges
One of the most common reasons a person has to file an SR-22 is for a license suspension related to driving under the influence. A Nevada DUI can affect your entire life. There are serious consequences even on a first offense. Under Nevada’s “Illegal Per Se” law you are considered impaired and therefore under the influence of alcohol if you are over the age of 21 and have a Blood Alcohol Content of .08 or higher, .04 or higher for commercial drivers. It is important to note that you can still be arrested and charged for a DUI if your BAC is less than the “illegal per se” limit.
On a first offense, you could face:
- Impoundment of your vehicle
- Jail sentence of two days to six months or community service
- Fines ranging from $400 to $1000
- MADD Victim Impact Panel
- DUI School
- Substance Abuse Treatment
Chemical test fee of $60
Nevada Ignition Interlock Device Requirements
As with many other states, the DMV NV requires that you install an ignition interlock device if your license is revoked because of a DUI or failure to submit to testing. The IID will allow you to regain your driving privileges before the end of the revocation period. The IID must be installed on any vehicle that you operate. You will be issued a driver's license with Restriction Y once you submit proof of installation and meet the other requirements to have your driving privileges reinstated.
How long is IID Required in Nevada?
- BAC of .18 or under 6 months
- BAC of .18 or higher: 1 to 3 years
Breathe Easy Insurance can help you get back your license back. We offer affordable SR-22 certificates. Our agents are highly-trained with years of experience. No matter what your insurance needs, we can help. Call now to get a quote and get your life back after a DUI or other license suspension.
In addition to SR22 insurance policies, we also have great rates for:
Auto | Business | Homeowners | Motorcycle | Renters | RV | SR22 | IID