IDAHO SR22 INSURANCE
Under certain circumstances, the Idaho Transportation Department Driver Services will require you to provide proof and maintain proof of liability insurance coverage in order to reinstate your suspended driving privileges. This proof is provided through an SR22 certificate of insurance. An SR-22 certificate must be kept for a minimum of three (3) years. In addition to filing an SR-22, you will have to pay a reinstatement fee of $15.00 to $285.00 depending on the circumstances of your case.
The most common reason that a person has to file proof of liability insurance coverage is because of a license suspension related to driving under the influence. Driving under the influence carries significant penalties in the State of Idaho and could result in high fines and jail time.
Idaho Mandatory Minimum Liability Insurance
The State of Idaho requires all drivers to carry mandatory minimum liability insurance. Failure to provide proof of insurance can result in significant penalties. The mandatory minimum liability insurance for Idaho is:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 bodily injury per accident
- $15,000 property damage
GET QUOTE TODAY
Need SR22 Insurance?
Driving Under the Influence in Idaho
Under Idaho Statute 18-8004 it is unlawful for a person to drive under the influence of alcohol, drugs or any other intoxicating substances. If convicted of a first time Idaho driving under the influence (DUI) charge a person may be sentenced up to six (6) months in jail, fined up to $1000, have their driving privileges suspended, be required to install an ignition interlock device. If your driving privileges are suspended as a result of a DUI conviction, you will most likely have to file an SR22 proof of liability insurance certificate and maintain it for three (3) years.
Idaho Ignition Interlock Device (IID) requirements
Under Idaho Statute 18-8008, the court may require a person who is convicted of a drunk driving charge to install an ignition interlock device (IID). An ignition interlock device is a small car breathalyzer that requires a breath sample to start the ignition. Generally, a DUI offender must pay the cost of installation and all fees associated with an ignition interlock device unless they can prove financial hardship.
Penalties for DUI Conviction
|Jail Time||Up to 6 months||10 days to 1 year||Up to 10 years|
|Fine(s)||Up to $1,000||Up to $2,000||Up to $5,000|
|Driver's License Suspension||30 days followed by 60-150 days where restricted may be requested||1 year followed by 1 year restricted license||1 year followed by 4 year restricted license|
|Jail Time||10 days to 1 year||Up to 5 years|
|Fine(s)||Up to $2,000||Up to $5,000|
|Driver's License Suspension||1 year||1 year followed by up to 4 additional years of suspension (at court's discretion)|
Get Your Idaho SR-22 Insurance Today
Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions is proud to provide SR-22 coverage throughout the nation. With dedicated state agents, you can be assured that you are in good hands. We will help you get your driving privileges reinstated and fulfill all of your court requirements. Whether you need to find an authorized alcohol treatment program or ignition interlock provider, our trained agents can help. Contact Breathe Easy Insurance today for your free, no-obligation quote. Our agents are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to assist you. Call us now at 866.822.7755.