SOUTH CAROLINA SR22 INSURANCE

Filing Proof of Financial Responsibility in South Carolina

The State of South Carolina can require drivers who have lost their license due to a drunk driving arrest, been convicted of driving without insurance, or been caught driving without insurance to file proof of financial responsibility through an SR22 certificate of insurance.  Known as High-Risk Insurance coverage, an SR22 form, shows that a driver will retain adequate insurance for a mandatory period.  In most cases, you will have to maintain proof of financial responsibility (SR22) for a minimum of three (3) years.

South Carolina Minimum Amounts of Liability Coverage

South Carolina law requires you to carry a mandatory minimum amount of liability coverage.  Failure to carry the mandatory minimum can result in severe punishment, including the loss of your driving privileges, high fines, and the requirement to carry SR22 insurance.  The mandatory minimum liability coverage in South Carolina are:

  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury
  • $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
  • $25,000 property damage

GET QUOTE TODAY

Need SR22 Insurance?

Driving Under the Influence in South Carolina

The South Carolina Department of Public Safety has implanted several laws regarding impaired driving.  Under state law, a person may not drive a “motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol to the extent that the person’s faculties to drive are materially and appreciably impaired.”  Additionally, you will be inferred that you were driving under the influence if your blood alcohol content was 0.08 percent or higher. 

Penalties for driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol include a fine of up to $400, not including assessments and surcharges, imprisonment for 48 hours to 30 days, and a license suspension of up to six (6) months.  The penalties increase significantly for a second or subsequent South Carolina DUI conviction.

South Carolina Ignition Interlock Device Program

The South Carolina Department of Probation, Parole, and Pardon Services require some DUI offenders to participate in the state's Ignition Interlock Device Program.  In order to be eligible for the program, a DUI offender must install a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID).  All persons convicted of a second or subsequent drunk driving charges as well as first-time offenders with a Breath Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.15 percent or higher are required to complete the program.  To be eligible for the program, you must enroll in the Alcohol and Drug Safety Action ProgramAfter having your device installed by a certified manufacturer, you may apply for your Ignition Interlock Restricted License.

Jail Time 48 hours to 30 days 5 days to 1 year 60 days to 3 years
Fine(s) $400 $2,100 to $5,100 $3,800 to $6,300
Driver's License Suspension Jail time or fine will apply, not both * *
Jail Time 72 hours to 30 days 30 days to 2 years 90 days to 4 years
Fine(s) $500 $2,500 to $5,500 $5,000 to $7,500
Driver's License Suspension Jail time or fine will apply, not both * *
Jail Time 30 to 90 days 90 days to 3 years 6 months to 5 years
Fine(s) $1,000 $3,500 to $6,500 $7,500 to $10,000
Driver's License Suspension Jail time or fine will apply, not both * *

*DMV will suspend drivers license for all offenses but additional penalties apply for refusal or BAC above .15

Get a Free South Carolina SR22 Insurance Quote

Contact Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions today for your free South Carolina SR22 Insurance quote.  Our experienced agents can help you with all of your licensing needs.  Let us find you affordable high-risk insurance rates and get your driving privileges reinstated.  Our state agents can assist you with enrolling in an Alcohol and Drug program and finding a certified Ignition Interlock provider.  Contact Breathe Easy today at 866.822.7755 to get a free quote and get back on the road.

In addition to SR22 insurance policies, we also have great rates for:

Auto Business | Homeowners | Motorcycle | Renters | RV | SR22 |  IID