LOUISIANA SR22 INSURANCE
The Louisiana Department of Public Safety Office of Motor Vehicles may require proof of future financial responsibility in the form of a certificate of insurance known as an SR-22. This insurance certificate certifies that you are meeting the required mandatory minimum insurance coverage limits in the State. Generally, the Department will require an SR-22 to be filed in the following circumstances:
- Accident Judgment
- Conviction of Driving While Intoxicated (DWI)
- Affidavit of arrest for Refusal
In most cases, the State of Louisiana will require you to maintain an SR-22 for a minimum of three years. If you fail to maintain proof of future financial responsibility, your driving privileges may be suspended.
Louisiana Mandatory Minimum Liability Insurance
In the State of Louisiana, all drivers must carry liability insurance on any automobility that they own. The mandatory minimum liability limits are:
- $15,000 for bodily injury to one person
- $30,000 for bodily injury to more than one person in a single accident
- $25,000 for property damage
Because state law mandates that you must carry liability insurance, failure to maintain proper coverage can have serious consequences. The Department of Public Safety may suspend your driving privileges.
GET QUOTE TODAY
GET YOUR QUOTE FAST
Louisiana Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) Convictions
In Louisiana, it is against the law to Drive While Intoxicated (DWI). A conviction for a Louisiana DWI can result in the suspension of your driving privileges for a year or more on your first offense. In order to reinstate your driving privileges, you may be required to complete a driver education course, pay significant fines of $100.00 or more, file proof of future financial responsibility (SR-22) and maintain it for three (3) years from the date of conviction.
If you are under the age of 21 and caught driving under the influence, you may be charged with Underage Driving Under the Influence (UDUI). A DUI conviction may result in a license suspension of up to one (1) year.
Louisiana Ignition Interlock Device Requirements
Under certain circumstances, the Office of Motor Vehicles may require you to install an ignition interlock device as a condition of reinstatement. The required period for ignition interlock device (IID) installment may depend on the severity of your case. For instance, if you refuse to take a chemical test, the Department may require the installation of an IID to reinstate your driving privileges or receive a restricted hardship license. An IID must be installed by an approved interlock manufacturer. Failure to maintain the IID on your vehicle for the duration of the required period can result in additional penalties.
PENALTIES FOR DUI CONVICTION
|Jail Time||48 hours||15 days to 6 months||1 to 5 years|
|Driver's License Suspension||1 year||2 years||3 years|
Getting your License Reinstated in Louisiana
Are you ready to get your license reinstated? Contact Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions today for a free SR-22 quote. Our experienced agents will help you to get your driving privileges reinstated. No matter what the circumstances of your case, we can help. Our staff is highly trained and will help you with all of your licensing and IID needs. Call our offices today at 844.580.7525 to get started.
In addition to SR22 insurance policies, we also have great rates for:
Auto | Business | Homeowners | Motorcycle | Renters | RV | SR22 | IID