Providing Proof of Financial Responsibility in South Dakota

The South Dakota Department of Public Safety requires motorists proof of future financial responsibility through an SR22 insurance filing if their license is suspended or revoked due to:

  • A judgment
  • A conviction for no insurance
  • Vehicular homicide
  • Driving Under the Influence
  • Second offense reckless driving in a one-year period

Drivers must maintain an SR22 certificate of insurance on file for at least three (3)



  • name
  • phone
  • email
  • zip
  • By clicking the button below, you consent to Consumer Safety Technology, LLC and its affiliate Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions, LLC calling and texting at the telephone number provided, without regard to the time of day, to encourage the purchase or lease of DUI-related products and services, including through the use of automated technology, artificial voice and/or pre-recorded means. Consent is not a condition of purchase. For California residents, click here.

years from the date of eligibility for reinstatement.  Failure to maintain proof of financial responsibility can result in a criminal conviction and a license suspension.  Furthermore, the Department of Public Safety will suspend your vehicle registration and license plates.

South Dakota Mandatory Auto Insurance Coverage

As with most states, South Dakota requires drivers to carry mandatory minimum liability coverage.  The mandatory coverage under state law is:

  • $25,000 bodily injury per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury per accident
  • $25,000 property damage

South Dakota Impaired Driving Laws

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in South Dakota is punished harshly under state law.  While the legal blood alcohol concentration level is 0.08 percent, you can be charged with a DUI at under that limit.  According to the Department of Public Safety, “If it is evident that alcohol consumption rendered a driver incapable of driving safely, the driver can be charged with driving under the influence of alcohol.”  Additionally, you can be charged with a DUI even if you are not driving the vehicle.  The state must show that a motorist was in "actual physical control" of the vehicle, not that they were driving.

Penalties for a first offense DUI include a license revocation, fees, alcohol testing, jail time, and completion of an alcohol education program.  With the filing of an SR22 (proof of financial responsibility), the court may permit a DUI offender to obtain a restricted or hardship license.  Furthermore, the court, within its discretion, may order a person convicted of drunk driving to install an ignition interlock device (IID).

Jail Time Up to 1 year Up to 1 year Up to 2 years Up to 5 years Up to 10 years
Fine(s) Up to $2,000 Up to $2,000 Up to $4,000 Up to $10,000 Up to $20,000
Driver's License Suspension 30 days to 1 year At least 1 year At least 1 year At least 2 years At least 3 years

We Can Help

Breathe Easy Insurance offers affordable SR22 insurance in South Dakota and throughout the country.  Contact our knowledgeable agents today for a free SR22 quote and to determine the steps necessary to get your driving privileges reinstated.  Our staff is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to assist.  Call Breathe Easy today at 844.580.7525 to find out how we can help.

License#: 10021813

In addition to SR22 insurance policies, we also have great rates for:

Auto Business | Homeowners | Motorcycle | Renters | RV | SR22 |  IID