Missouri SR22 Insurance
The State of Missouri requires an SR-22 filing (Proof of Insurance) under a number of circumstances. You will have to file an SR-22 certificate if your license is suspended due to:
- A motor vehicle accident judgment – you were involved in an accident, and a judgment was rendered against you. This is true regardless of whether the accident and subsequent judgment were in Missouri or another state.
- Failure to show proof of insurance when requested by the Missouri Department of Revenue.
- Failure to maintain liability insurance
An SR-22 is a certificate provided by a licensed insurance agent. You must maintain the SR-22 on file for a minimum of two (2) years from the starting date of the suspension.
GET QUOTE TODAY
Need SR22 Insurance?
Missouri Mandatory Minimum Liability Requirements
Under Missouri state law, all motor vehicle owners are required to maintain liability insurance coverage. The mandatory minimum coverage requirement is:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $25,000 per accident for property damage
Failure to maintain the appropriate insurance coverage or show proof of insurance can result in the suspension of your driving privileges.
Missouri Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) and Ignition Interlock Devices (IIDs)
Many people end up having to file an SR-22 after a license suspension due to a Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) charge. In Missouri, a first DWI conviction can result in the suspension of your driving privileges for 90 days. You may be eligible for a Restricted Driving Privilege (RDP) with the installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID). To avoid the automatic suspension of your license, you must submit a request for your Restricted Driving Privilege within 15 days. Failure to maintain the installation of your IID for the duration of your 90-day suspension period can result in an extension of your license suspension. To obtain your RDP you must submit a Request for Immediate 90-Day Interlock Restricted Driving Privilege with Ignition Interlock Device Form 5489 to the Missouri Department of Revenue, file proof that of IID installation and file an SR-22.
If you are ineligible or fail to apply for an immediate 90-Day RDP, you may be able to receive a 60-day RDP. If it is your first DWI conviction, you must serve a 30-day hard suspension, file an SR-22 and proof of ignition interlock device installation before being eligible to receive your 60-day restricted driving privileges.
Get Started Today – Obtain your Missouri SR-22 Quote Online
At Breathe Easy Insurance, we want to make this process as easy as possible. Our agents are standing by to take your call. Regardless of the circumstances of your license suspension, we can help. Our insurance agents can help you file your SR-22 with the Missouri Department of Revenue, quickly and efficiently. We will walk you through the process of reinstating your driving privileges and finding a certified ignition interlock device provider. Call now or fill out your information to receive a free, no-obligation quote today.