KANSAS SR22 INSURANCE
According to the Kansas Division of Vehicles, Driver Control Bureau in order to reinstate your driving privileges you may have to file a Sr-22 if you:
- Fail to provide proof of insurance during a traffic stop or accident
- Are arrested or convicted of certain driving offenses such as DUI
- Failure to comply with court-ordered requirements such as fine payments and mandatory license suspensions
The State of Kansas requires that you maintain an SR-22 for at least one (1) year. If the policy is terminated due to non-payment or non-compliance, you could face additional penalties, including having your driving privileges revoked.
Kansas Mandatory Minimum Liability Coverage
An SR22 is not a type of insurance, but rather a certificate provided to the Driver Control Bureau showing that you have mandatory-minimum liability coverage as required under State law. In Kansas, the mandatory minimum liability coverage is:
- $25,000 bodily injury
- $50,000 total bodily injury
- $25,000 property damage
GET QUOTE TODAY
GET YOUR QUOTE FAST
Kansas DUI (Driving Under the Influence)
One of the most common reasons that a person is required to file an SR22 is for a DUI conviction. Driving under the influence is a serious offense. If you are under the age of 21, driving with a BAC of .02-.0799, you could face a 30-day license suspension and be required to install an ignition interlock device for 330 days. If you are over the age of 21 and have a chemical test failure with a BAC of .08 to .1499, you could face a 30-day license suspension, 6 months to 1-year ignition interlock requirement and be required to pay a $200 reinstatement fee on a 1st occurrence. The penalties only get more stringent if you are convicted of driving under the influence or have a BAC of .15 or greater. According to the Kansas Department of Revenue, Alcohol Actions Chart, those with multiple DUI convictions could pay up to a $1500 reinstatement fee and a 10-year ignition interlock requirement for refusing to submit to a chemical test on their 5th DUI occurrence.
Kansas Ignition Interlock Device (IID) Requirements
Nearly all 50 states now have an ignition interlock device requirement following a license suspension related to driving under the influence. To reinstate your driving privileges in Kansas and other states, you will be required to file proof of financial responsibility (SR22 certificate), pay a reinstatement fee, and install an ignition interlock device. The length of time the IID must remain installed on your vehicle depends on your age at the time of the license suspension, your BAC, and if you have had prior DUIs.
Penalties for DUI Conviction
|Jail Time||48 hours to 6 months||90 days to 1 year||90 days to 1 year||90 days to 1 year|
|Fine(s)||$750 to $1,000||$1,250 to $1,750||$1,750 to $2,500||$2,500|
|Driver's License Suspension||30 days||1 year||1 year||1 year|
Get a Quote for SR22 Insurance Today and Get your License Reinstated!
Breathe Easy Insurance makes it fast and easy to get your license reinstated. We provide free quotes for SR22s. Our office is a one-stop shop for all of your licensing needs. Our highly-trained staff can help you understand the legal requirements for reinstating your driving privileges and help you find a certified IID installer. Call now to get started or fill out your information below for a free, no-obligation quote.
In addition to SR22 insurance policies, we also have great rates for:
Auto | Business | Homeowners | Motorcycle | Renters | RV | SR22 | IID