WYOMING SR22 INSURANCE
The Wyoming Insurance Department requires all drivers to carry minimum liability limits on the vehicles they operate. The state required liability limits are:
- $25,000 per person bodily injury
- $50,000 per accident bodily injury
- $20,000 property damage
If you fail to provide proof of insurance or have your license suspended due to a drunk driving offense, you may be required to provide the Wyoming Department of Transportation with evidence of financial responsibility through an SR22 certificate of insurance. An SR22 form must be kept on file for a minimum of three (3) years. Failure to maintain your SR22 could result in additional penalties.
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Wyoming
One of the most common reasons a person may have their license suspended or revoked
GET QUOTE TODAY
GET YOUR QUOTE FAST
is due to a drunk driving offense. Codified into law under Wyoming statute 31-5-233, a person may not drive or have control of a vehicle while under the influence of an intoxicating liquor or controlled substance. If it can be shown that your blood alcohol concentration was 0.08 percent or higher, you will be presumed to have been under the influence of alcohol and, therefore, too impaired to drive under Wyoming law. The presumption is rebuttable if your blood alcohol concentration was between 0.05 percent and 0.08 percent.
Wyoming DUI Penalties
If convicted of driving under the influence, you will be ordered to undergo an assessment by a substance abuse provider. Additionally, you could face up to six (6) months in jail and a fine of up to $750, or both, on a first offense DUI. Finally, your driver's license could be suspended or revoked. If your blood alcohol concentration were 0.15 percent or higher, you would be required to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle for up to six (6) months.
Ignition Interlock Requirements in Wyoming
Wyoming’s Ignition Interlock Program makes the installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) mandatory for all people convicted of a first offense DUI with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.15 percent or higher and for all people convicted of a second or subsequent DUI regardless of their BAC. With the installation of an ignition interlock device, a person may apply for an Ignition Interlock Restricted License (IIR). In addition to providing proof of installation, you must file an SR22 insurance certificate with the Department of Transportation, fill out the application for an IIR, and pay a reinstatement fee.
Penalties for DUI Conviction
|Jail Time||Up to 6 months||7 days to 6 months||30 days to 6 months||Up to 7 years|
|Fine(s)||$Up to 750||$200 to $750||$750 to $3,000||Up to $10,000|
|Driver's License Suspension||90 days||1 year||3 years||3 years|
Contact Breathe Easy Today
If your license was suspended due to a drunk driving conviction in Wyoming, Breathe Easy can help get you back on the road. Call us today at 844.580.7525 to determine your eligibility for reinstatement. We will walk you through the process, including filing an SR22 insurance certificate with the Department of Transportation, finding a state-approved IID provider, and enrolling in an alcohol treatment program if required by the court. Call our experienced staff today to get started or go online for a free Wyoming SR22 insurance quote.
In addition to SR22 insurance policies, we also have great rates for:
Auto | Business | Homeowners | Motorcycle | Renters | RV | SR22 | IID