GEORGIA SR22 INSURANCE

Getting Your License Reinstated After a Georgia DUI (Driving Under the Influence)

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) is a serious offense in the State of Georgia.  If your license is suspended as a result of a DUI, you will be required to file an SR22 proof of financial responsibility form.  The SR22 certificate must be kept on file for a minimum of three (3) years.  Failure to file or keep proof of financial responsibility can result in the re-suspension of your driving privileges and the cancelation of your insurance policy.

GET QUOTE TODAY

Need SR22 Insurance?

Penalties for DUI Conviction in Georgia

  • 1st Offense:

Jail Time: 10 days to 12 months

Community Service: at least 40 hours

Fine: $300-$1,000

Driver's License Suspension: Minimum of 180 days

  • 2nd Offense:

Jail Time: 90 days to 12 months

Community Service: at least 30 days

Fine: $600-$1,000

Driver's License Suspension: 3 years

  • 3rd Offense:

Jail Time: 120 days to 12 months

Community Service: at least 30 days

Fine: $1,000-$5,000

Driver's License Suspension: 5 years

If you have multiple convictions for failing to provide proof of insurance, the Georgia Department of Driver Services will require you to present a Georgia Safety Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22A).  The SR-22A insurance certificate must be prepaid every six (6) months.  The department will also allow you to file an SR-22 insurance policy that is marked "paid in full."

Georgia Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Charges

The Official Code of Georgia Annotated (O.C.G.A) contains several laws regarding driving under the influence.  O.C.G.A § 40-6-391 makes it unlawful for a person to drive or be in physical control of a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol "to the extent that it is less safe for the person to drive" or subsection (5) "The person's alcohol concentration is .08 grams or more at any time within three hours after such driving or being in actual physical control from alcohol consumed before such driving or being in actual physical control ended."

Penalties for a first offense driving under the influence conviction in the State of Georgia include a fine of up to $1,000, a jail sentence of ten days up to one year, forty (40) hours of community service, completion of a DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program, a clinical evaluation, and probation. 

Georgia Ignition Interlock Device (IID) Requirements

Georgia law requires all people convicted of two (2) or more DUI offenses within a five (5) year period to install an ignition interlock device (IID) on their vehicle.  To obtain their Ignition Interlock Limited Driving Permit (IILDP), a person must show that they have completed a certified DUI Drug or Alcohol Use Risk Reduction program and pay all fines and fees.  Additionally, under Georgia's extensive Ignition Interlock Program certain drivers may voluntarily install an ignition interlock device and receive their IILDP allowing them restricted driving privileges. 

Ready to Get Back on the Road

If you have had your license suspended or revoked, you need to contact Breathe Easy Insurance.  Our knowledgeable agents will help you get your driving privileges reinstated quickly.  We understand how difficult and overwhelming this time can be.  Breathe Easy offers affordable Georgia SR-22 and SR-22A insurance.  Call our office today at 866.822.7755 for more information.

Lic #208097

 

 

In addition to SR22 insurance policies, we also have great rates for:

Auto Business | Homeowners | Motorcycle | Renters | RV | SR22 |  IID