VERMONT SR22 INSURANCE
The Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) may require a driver to file proof of financial responsibility through an SR22 certificate of insurance. An SR22 form provides the Vermont DMV with proof of Financial Responsibility Insurance. While there are several reasons (under 23 V.S.A. § 801) that may result in a driver having to obtain an SR22, some of the most common are for:
- Drunk driving-related convictions or license suspensions
- Operating a vehicle without proper insurance
- Driving on a suspended or revoked license
- Unsatisfied Judgments
An SR22 often referred to as "high-risk" insurance must be maintained for a minimum of three (3) years. Failure to maintain an SR22 could result in the suspension of your driving privileges.
Vermont Liability Insurance Requirements
The State of Vermont requires all vehicles to be covered by a minimum amount of liability insurance. Under state law (statute 23 V.S.A. § 800), the mandatory minimum liability policy is:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 property damage
If you fail to maintain the adequate amount of liability insurance, you could be assessed a civil penalty of up to $500. You may be required to file proof of financial responsibility through an SR22.
GET QUOTE TODAY
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Vermont
According to Vermont statute 23 V.S.A. § 1201, it is unlawful to "operate, attempt to operate or be in actual physical control of a vehicle on a highway" with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or more or while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. If convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) in Vermont, you could be required to be fines and fees, imprisoned, required to complete alcohol and/or drug counseling, have to install an ignition interlock device (IID) and suffer a mandatory license suspension.
Vermont Ignition Interlock Device (IID) Requirements
In an effort to deter repeat drunk driving offenders, Vermont has implemented extensive ignition interlock requirements for DUI offenses. The Vermont DMV may issue an Ignition Interlock Restricted Driver License (RDL) with the installation of an ignition interlock device (IID). To obtain an RDL, you must pay a reinstatement fee, provide proof of Financial Responsibility through an SR-22 certificate, and provide proof of installation of the ignition interlock device by a court-approved provider.
Penalties for DUI Conviction
|Jail Time||Up to 2 years||60 hours to 2 years (or minimum of 200 hours community service)||96 hours to 5 years||192 hours to 10 years|
|Fine(s)||$Up to 750||Up to $1,500||Up to $2,500||Up to $5,000|
|Driver's License Suspension||90 days||18 months||Life (unless IID is installed and/or 3 years of abstinence from alcohol)||-|
Contact Our Offices Today
Find out why Breathe Easy Insurance agents are America’s SR22 Insurance Experts. We provide low-cost insurance in Vermont and across the country. Call today or go online for a free Vermont SR22 insurance quote. We can assist you with all of your licensing needs, including finding a state-approved IID installer and enrolling in a DUI program. Do not wait, call today, and speak with one of our experienced staff members at 866.822.7755.