Non-Owner Auto Insurance with an SR22 in California
Has your California driver’s license been suspended because you received too many tickets? Maybe you were convicted of a DUI and your driving privileges have been taken away, but now you are ready to get it reinstated and get back on the road. If your driver’s license is suspended, California law requires you to obtain an insurance policy with an SR22 certification before you can have your license reinstated. This mandate applies whether or not you own a car. If you don’t own a car, you must purchase a non-owner’s policy, along with an SR22 rider, in order to have your license reinstated.
Most states, including California, require drivers with suspended licenses to obtain non-owner SR22 insurance prior to reinstatement. Only eight states in the US do not have this requirement. These states include Pennsylvania, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Delaware, Kentucky, Minnesota and New Mexico. However, if you intend to move from one of these states to California, which does have the non-owner insurance requirement, you will need to purchase the non-owner policy to obtain a California driver’s license.
California SR22 Insurance
California SR22 insurance is simply a standard auto insurance policy with an attached SR22 certification, also known as a rider. The SR22 is a filed with the DMV by your insurance provider as proof that you are carrying the minimum liability requirements. It is important to note that the insurance company will notify the DMV if your policy lapses for any reason. Your insurance agent will file the SR22 paperwork electronically when you purchase your policy.
There is a small filing fee associated with the SR22 certificate, but the bulk of the expense will be the increased cost of the insurance premiums. California requires that you maintain a minimum level of liability coverage. In industry terms, you must maintain a 15/30/5 policy. This means that your liability policy must cover $15,000 for bodily injury or death for one person, $30,000 for bodily injury or death for two people, and $5,000 in property damage coverage.
If you are required to maintain an SR22 certification because of a DUI, too many tickets, a citation for driving an uninsured motor vehicle or any other reason, you must never allow your policy to lapse. Otherwise, you will lose your SR22 certification, and your insurance carrier will notify the state.
Non-Owner Insurance in California
Even a non-owners insurance policy must maintain the minimum California coverage limits. To qualify for a non-owners policy, you must not own a car, and you cannot have an ignition interlock device requirement pending on your record, resulting from a DUI or similar conviction.
Obtaining Non-Owner SR22 Insurance in California
If you meet the requirements for a non-owners SR22, you just need to contact an insurance agent and purchase a non-owner’s policy. Be sure to let the agent know your situation, so he will know that you will need an SR22 rider. Purchase your non-owner’s policy and pay any associated fees for the rider. The agent will electronically complete and file the SR22 forms required by the state. Again, remember to always pay your premiums on time. Otherwise, your agent is required by law to notify the state. California requires SR22 drivers to maintain the certification for at least three years, However, the DMV or the courts may require that you maintain it for a longer period of time. If your policy lapses for any reason, you will be notified by the California DMV that your driver’s license has been suspended. You must make the payments necessary to bring your premiums up-to-date and your insurance carrier will need to refile the SR22 paperwork.
Cost of Non-Owner SR22 Insurance
The costs of a non-owner insurance policy with an SR22 rider vary based on your driving history and location, among other factors. However, non-owner policies are generally less expensive than standard auto policies, even with the SR22 endorsement. The major cost associated with non-owner’s SR22 insurance are the premiums, however, the insurance carrier will charge a fee for filing the SR22 forms. Non-owner insurance varies, but the average cost for this type of coverage is about $1,200 per year.