COLORADO SR22 INSURANCE
What is an SR-22?
The State of Colorado requires all drivers to carry liability insurance. The minimum liability insurance coverage amounts are:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 bodily injury for two or more people
- $15,000 property damage
Under certain circumstances, the Colorado Department of Revenue will require you to file an SR-22 form after a license suspension or revocation. Contrary to popular belief, an SR-22 is not a type of insurance but rather a certificate or rider that is filed with the Division of Motor Vehicles. An SR-22 shows that you will maintain the minimum liability coverage required by state law.
GET QUOTE TODAY
Need SR22 Insurance?
How long do I need to have an SR-22 on file in Colorado?
Depending on the situation, you may be required to have an SR-22 on file with the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles from nine (9) months to three (3) years.
When do I have to file an SR-22 form?
There are several reasons that the Department of Revenue could require you to file an SR-22 form. The most common is following a license suspension or revocation for Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI). If your license is suspended due to a DUI or DWAI, in addition to filing an SR-22, you will have to pay a reinstatement fee, satisfy all court requirements for reinstatement and may have to install an ignition interlock device (IID).
Colorado has harsh consequences for those convicted of DUI or DWAI. On a first offense, you could face jail time, high fines, public service requirements, probation and alcohol education or therapy.
What are the Ignition Interlock Device (IID) Requirements in Colorado?
If you were arrested on or after January 1, 2014, the State of Colorado would require the mandatory installation of an IID for those whose license was revoked because of a DUI/DWAI with one of the following:
- BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) of 0.15 or greater
- Two or more DUI/DWAI convictions
- Refused testing when requested by the arresting officer
The Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles also allows for the voluntary installation of an IID to get restricted driving privileges after a license suspension for a first offense if you were over the age of 21 at the time of the offense and had a BAC of under 0.15. Additionally, you may be able to apply for restricted privileges if your license was revoked for a year or longer due to an alcohol-related offense with a voluntary interlock and completion of a Level II Education and Therapy.
Get your Free Colorado SR-22 Quote Today
Are you ready to get back on the road and get your life back? Breathe Easy Insurance is here to help. Our highly-trained staff will help you understand the license reinstatement process. No matter what the circumstances of your license suspension, our agents can help you. We know that this can be a stressful and overwhelming time; let us make it easier with a free online quote. Get started today!