FLORIDA SR22 Insurance
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) requires that drivers deemed “high-risk” carry proof of financial responsibility. This certificate of insurance shows the FLHSMV that you have insurance that meets the mandatory-minimum insurance requirements. An SR-22 is provided by a licensed insurance company with the State of Florida.
Mandatory minimum liability requirements :
- $10,000 bodily injury per person
- $20,000 total bodily injury
- $10,000 property damage
GET QUOTE TODAY
Need SR22 Insurance?
Filing FR44 Insurance
Florida is unique in that it has a separate certificate requirement for those with driving privileges suspended due to a DUI or DWI. The FR44 requirements are more stringent than those of an SR22. You must carry FR44 insurance for three years. A canceled policy will result in the revocation of your driving privileges.
FR44 Insurance Requirements:
- $100,000 bodily injury per person
- $300,000 total bodily injury
- $50,000 property damage
Driving Under the Influence in Florida
Driving Under the Influence is a serious offense in the State of Florida. You could face a fine of not less than $500 or more than $1000 for a first offense, provide completion of an alcohol program, serve a six-month license suspension and could face imprisonment of up to six months. Depending on the offense, your car could get impounded, and you may have to install an ignition interlock device.
Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device
A person may be required to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle if they are convicted of a first offense DUI. The device may be installed for at least six continuous months. , but it will reinstate your driving privileges for the duration of your suspension.
Facing charges for driving under the influence can be daunting. Breathe Easy Insurance is here to help. We can provide solutions for all of your Florida insurance needs. Whether you are required to provide an SR22 certificate or proof of an FR44, we can help. Our goal is to make the process as easy and stress-free as possible. Contact our offices today for more information on high-risk insurance requirements in the State of Florida and how to get your license reinstated after a DUI.