MARYLAND SR22 INSURANCE
If your license is suspended because of an unsatisfied judgment, a drunk driving violation, failing to provide proof of insurance when involved in an accident or other insurance-related convictions, the State of Maryland may require you to file an SR22 certificate of insurance. An SR22, sometimes referred to as High-Risk Insurance, provides proof of future financial responsibility to the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA). In most cases, you will have to maintain an SR22 certificate of insurance on file for a minimum of three (3) years.
Maryland Mandatory Minimum Insurance Requirements
The Maryland Department of Transportation – Motor Vehicle Administration requires all vehicles to maintain mandatory minimum liability coverage. The necessary minimum coverage limits are:
- $30,000 bodily injury per person
- $60,000 bodily injury per accident
- $15,000 property damage
If you drive uninsured in the State of Maryland, you could face substantial fines, suspension of your vehicle registration, and impoundment. If you are involved in an accident and do not have the mandatory minimum liability coverage required under state law, you could lose your driving privileges.
GET QUOTE TODAY
Need SR22 Insurance?
Maryland Impaired Driving Laws
One of the most common reasons that a person has to file an SR22 certificate is due to a license suspension from a drunk driving arrest or conviction. Maryland has several impaired driving laws. If you are caught driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, you can face administrative sanctions through the MVA and criminal penalties.
Depending on your blood alcohol level, you may be charged with Driving While Impaired (DWI). A Maryland DWI is a less serious offense than a traditional driving under the influence (DUI) charge. The penalties, however, are severe for both and can result in a license suspension or revocation, jail time, hefty fines, and multiple points on your driving record. According to the Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) If you accumulate 12 or more points on your driving record or have an alcohol-related violation, you will have to wait a minimum of six (6) months before the revocation is lifted and your driving privileges are reinstated. Under certain circumstances, Maryland drivers convicted of an alcohol-related offense may be eligible to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle, allowing them to restore their driving privileges sooner.
Maryland’s Ignition Interlock Program
In an effort to reduce drunk driving recidivism, the MDOT MVA offers some drivers the ability to participate in Maryland’s Ignition Interlock Program. Noah’s Law, passed in 2015, requires all drivers convicted of "Driving Under the Influence (DUI), Driving While Impaired (DWI) while transporting a minor under the age of 16, or homicide or life-threatening injury by motor vehicle while DUI or DWI" to install an ignition interlock device on all vehicles that they own or operate. A first time DUI offender must install and maintain an ignition interlock device on their vehicle for a minimum of 180 days.
PENALTIES FOR DUI CONVICTION
|Jail Time||Up to 2 months||Up to 1 year|
|Driver's License Suspension||Up to 6 months||Up to 12 months|
|License Points Added||8 points||8 points|
|Jail Time||Up to 2 years||Up to 2 years|
|Fine(s)||Up to $1,000||Up to $2,000|
|Driver's License Suspension||Revoked 180 days||Revoked 180 days|
|License Points Added||12 points||12 points|
|Jail Time||Up to 5 years||Up to 10 years|
|Fine(s)||Up to $5,000||Up to $10,000|
|Driver's License Suspension||Up to 12 months||Up to 24 months|
|License Points Added||8 to 12 points||8 to 12 points|
Call Breathe Easy Today for a Free Maryland SR22 Quote
No matter what the reason for your license suspension, our experienced agents can help. Whether your driving privileges were revoked from a DUI or because of failure to provide proof of insurance, we will assist you in getting back on the road. Contact Breathe Easy Insurance today and get a free SR22 quote. We can assist you in finding a certified Ignition Interlock provider and a court-approved alcohol treatment program. Please do not wait until it is too late. Contact our offices today at 866.822.7755.