UTAH SR22 INSURANCE
The Utah Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) requires that all drivers carry proof of insurance and provide it at an officer's request. Failure to provide proof of insurance can have serious consequences, including the suspension of your driving privileges. The minimum liability insurance coverage amount in the State of Utah is:
- $25,000 bodily injury or death per person
- $65,000 bodily injury or death per accident
- $15,000 property damage
Under Utah’s no-fault law, the State also requires all motorists to carry $3,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage. Failure to carry the mandatory minimum insurance requirements or provide proof of insurance at the request of law enforcement may result in your license being suspended. If your license is suspended for failure to provide proof of insurance, the Utah DMV can require you to file an SR-22 form. This form serves as proof of financial responsibility and must stay on file for a minimum of three (3) years. To reinstate your driving privileges, you will also have to pay a $100 reinstatement fee.
GET QUOTE TODAY
Need SR22 Insurance?
Utah Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
On December 30, 2018, Utah became the first state to lower the legal drinking limit from 0.08 to 0.05 BAC (Blood Alcohol Concentration). If you are over the age of 21 and arrested for a Utah DUI, you could face harsh consequences including the suspension of your license for 120 days on a first offense. If you refuse to submit to a chemical test, your license could be suspended for 18 months.
If you are under the age of 21, under Utah’s “Not-a-Drop” law (UCA 53-3-231), you may not operate a vehicle or motorboat with a detectable amount of alcohol in your body. If you are arrested under the "Not-a-Drop" statute, your license will be suspended for a minimum of six (6) months. If you are under the age of 21 and refuse to submit to a chemical test, your license will be revoked for a minimum of two (2) years.
Depending on the circumstances of your arrest and conviction, you will have to submit an SR-22 form and pay a reinstatement fee to get your license reinstated. You may be able to apply for Ignition Interlock Restricted Driver Status with the installation of an ignition interlock device (IID).
Utah Ignition Interlock Device (IID) Requirements
If your license is suspended due to a DUI, you may be eligible for a restricted license with the installation of an ignition interlock device (IID). A state certified provider must install an IID. If you have applied for and received ignition interlock restricted driver status, you may not operate a vehicle that does not have an IID installed. If you are found operating a vehicle without an IID installed, your driving privileges may be revoked for up to one (1) year.
Penalties for DUI Conviction
|Jail Time||48 hours to 6 months||5 days to 6 months||5 days to 5 years|
|Fine(s)||$700 to $1,000||$800 to $1,000||$800 to $5,000|
|Driver's License Suspension||120 days, 18 months for refusal||2 years revocation, 36 months for refusal||2 years revocation|
Get Started Today
Get your license reinstated fast and easy with Breathe Easy Insurance. Our highly-trained staff will help get you back on the road fast with affordable SR-22 coverage. We are here to meet all of your licensing and insurance needs. Call today for a free quote, or fill out your information online and get on your way to reinstatement. Our agents are standing by.