PENNSYLVANIA SR22 INSURANCE

Pennsylvania is one of six states that do not require an SR-22 filing to reinstate your driving privileges. Most states require proof of financial responsibility (SR-22) for high-risk drivers.  The most common reasons a driver must file an SR-22 are:

  • Convictions for Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
  • Driving without adequate insurance
  • Being involved in an accident without insurance
  • Having too many points on your driving record

While Pennsylvania does not require the filing of an SR-22, there are significant penalties for driving under the influence or driving uninsured.  At a minimum, you could face a high fine, license suspension, and vehicle impoundment.

Pennsylvania Mandatory Minimum Insurance Limits

Pennsylvania requires all drivers to carry liability insurance.  The mandatory minimum insurance coverage is:

  • $15,000 bodily injury per person
  • $30,000 bodily injury per accident
  • $5,000 property damage

GET QUOTE TODAY

Need SR22 Insurance?

While Pennsylvania does not require the filing of an SR-22, there are significant penalties for driving under the influence or driving uninsured.  At a minimum, you could face a high fine, license suspension, and vehicle impoundment.

Pennsylvania Mandatory Minimum Insurance Limits

Pennsylvania requires all drivers to carry liability insurance.  The mandatory minimum insurance coverage is:

  • $15,000 bodily injury per person
  • $30,000 bodily injury per accident
  • $5,000 property damage

The Pennsylvania Insurance Department governs insurance requirements for the State.  Failure to comply with compulsory insurance laws can result in the suspension or revocation of your driving privileges.

Pennsylvania Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Laws

As noted by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), Pennsylvania has three levels of Driving Under the Influence (DUI).  If you are driving with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of .08 to .099 percent you can be charged with General Impairment, if you have a BAC of .10 to .159 percent you can be charged and subsequently convicted of High BAC, and if your BAC is .16 percent or higher you may be charged with Highest BAC.  Penalties increase with each level of DUI.

A conviction for a first offense General Impairment can result in up to six (6) months of probation, a $300 fine, required alcohol highway safety school, and mandatory alcohol treatment.  The higher your BAC, the more likely that you will have to install an ignition interlock device (IID) to reinstate your driving privileges.

PENALTIES FOR DUI CONVICTION

Jail Time 6 months probation At least 5 days At least 10 days
Fine(s) $300 $300-$2,500 $500-$5,000
Driver's License Suspension None 12 months 12 months

Get a Free PA Insurance Quote Today

Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions proudly serves all 50 states.  Let our experienced staff help you get your license reinstated today.  Our agents are fully licensed and can assist you with all of your licensing and IID needs. Contact Breathe Easy for a free insurance quote and get back on the road today.

In addition to SR22 insurance policies, we also have great rates for:

Auto Business | Homeowners | Motorcycle | Renters | RV | SR22 |  IID