OKLAHOMA SR22 INSURANCE
Getting Your License Reinstated in Oklahoma
Oklahoma is one of six states that do not require an SR-22 (proof of financial responsibility) to be filed following a license suspension for driving under the influence (DUI). Most states require an SR22 certificate of insurance following a license suspension for DUI or after being involved in an accident without adequate insurance.
Oklahoma Motor Vehicle Liability Policy
While Oklahoma does not require the filing of a SR-22 certificate of insurance, the Department of Public Safety does require that all owned or operated vehicles carry minimum liability insurance. The minimum amount of liability coverage is:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 property damage
GET QUOTE TODAY
Need SR22 Insurance?
Failure to comply with Oklahoma's compulsory insurance laws can result in significant consequences, including high fines and an immediate suspension of your driving privileges.
Oklahoma Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Penalties
Being arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) in Oklahoma can be devastating. You could face penalties through the court and administrative sanctions through the Department of Safety. If you are arrested for an Oklahoma DUI, you have the right to request an Administrative Hearing within fifteen (15) days. Failure to request an administrative hearing within 15 days will result in the automatic revocation of your driving privileges. The administrative hearing is entirely independent of the criminal court case and will only be used to determine whether your driving privileges will be revoked.
Oklahoma has several impaired driving laws. In addition to a DUI, you can be charged with Driving While Impaired (DWI) if your blood alcohol concentration is 0.05 percent or greater but less than 0.08 percent. Law enforcement must demonstrate that in addition to your blood alcohol concentration being above 0.05 percent, you also showed evidence that you were unable to operate a motor vehicle safely or committed a traffic violation. Criminal penalties for impaired driving include:
- Jail time
- Monetary fines
- License suspension
- Compulsory Alcohol Education
- MADD Victim Impact Panel
- Community Service
- Ignition Interlock Requirement
Oklahoma Ignition Interlock Device (IID) Requirements
You may be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) to get your driving privileges reinstated after a mandatory period of revocation. A state-approved provider must install the IID. Failure to provide a certificate of installation to the Department of Public Safety can result in additional criminal and administrative penalties. If you are ordered to install an IID, you may not operate a motor vehicle that is not equipped with the device.
|Driver's License Suspension||6 months||1 year||2 years|
Get Started Today
Get your license reinstated fast and easy with Breathe Easy Insurance. Our highly-trained staff will help get you back on the road fast with affordable SR-22 coverage. We are here to meet all of your licensing and insurance needs. Call today for a free quote, or fill out your information online and get on your way to reinstatement. Our agents are standing by.