NEBRASKA SR22 INSURANCE
The Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles requires specific drivers to file an SR-22 certificate of insurance indicating that you have proof of financial responsibility. Even if you do not own a vehicle, you must purchase a non-owner or operator policy under Nebraska law if you receive a license suspension or revocation related to a "court conviction, accumulation of points or some other administrative action."
Under most circumstances, you must maintain the SR-22 filing for a minimum of three (3) years from the date eligible for reinstatement. The most common reason a person must file an SR22 certificate of insurance (high-risk insurance) is for a license suspension resulting from a driving under the influence (DUI) arrest. Montana, however, also requires an SR22 filing for license suspensions related to an accumulation of 12 or more points on your driving record within a two (2) year period, a court conviction for no proof of insurance, court-ordered revocations, unsatisfied judgments, and as a condition of obtaining certain permits such as an Ignition Interlock Permit.
GET QUOTE TODAY
GET YOUR QUOTE FAST
Nebraska Mandatory Minimum Insurance Requirements
Nebraska requires all vehicles in the State to maintain mandatory minimum liability coverage. Under the Nebraska Revised Statute 60-509 the mandatory minimum liability policy is:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 property damage
Failure to maintain adequate insurance coverage can result in significant penalties, including the suspension or revocation of your driving privileges.
Nebraska Driving Under the Influence Laws
Nebraska Revised Statute 60-6, 196, makes it unlawful for "any person to operate or be in the actual physical control of any motor vehicle" while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Penalties for driving under the influence (DUI) include up to a six (6) month license suspension, installation of an ignition interlock device, a jail sentence, probation, and a fine of up to $500.
Nebraska Ignition Interlock Permit
Nebraska allows drunk driving offenders to apply for an Ignition Interlock Permit by waiving their right to an Administrative License Revocation (ALR) hearing. You must submit an Ignition Interlock Permit Application, court order, certificate of installation, surrender your Nebraska operator’s license/permit, and meet all other applicable reinstatement requirements to be eligible for your Ignition Interlock Permit.
|Jail Time||7 to 60 days||30 days to 6 months||90 days to 1 years||180 days to 3 years|
|Fine(s)||Up to $500||Up to $500||$1,000||Up to $10,000|
|Driver's License Suspension||6 months||18 months||15 years||15 years|
|Jail Time||7 to 60 days||90 days to 1 year||180 days to 3 years||180 days to 3 years|
|Fine(s)||$500||$1,000||Up to $10,000||Up to $10,000|
|Driver's License Suspension||1 year||18 months to 15 years||15 years||15 years|
Get Started Today
Contact Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions to get your free Nebraska SR-22 insurance quote today. Compare rates and find out why Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions agents are America’s SR22 Insurance Experts. You should not have to suffer with suspended or revoked driving privileges if you are eligible for reinstatement. Find out how by contacting our experienced staff today at 844.580.7525.
In addition to SR22 insurance policies, we also have great rates for:
Auto | Business | Homeowners | Motorcycle | Renters | RV | SR22 | IID