KENTUCKY SR22 INSURANCE
Kentucky is one of six states that do not require SR-22 insurance. SR-22 certificates of insurance are proof of future financial responsibility that most states require after a license suspension for driving under the influence (DUI) or failure to provide proof of insurance.
While the Commonwealth of Kentucky does not require drivers to carry an SR-22 certificate of insurance to reinstate their driving privileges, they do require all drivers to have mandatory minimum liability coverage. Pursuant to the Department of Vehicle Regulation, failure to carry the mandatory minimum liability insurance can result in “a fine of $500 to $1000, up to 90 days in jail, or both.” Mandatory minimum liability coverage limits are:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 property damage
GET QUOTE TODAY
Need SR22 Insurance?
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Kentucky
Being arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) can impact your entire life. You could lose your license, your career, and even your freedom. Penalties for a first offense Kentucky DUI include required completion of an alcohol or substance abuse program, 30 to 120-day license suspension, mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device (IID), jail sentence, high fines, and probation.
Kentucky Ignition Interlock Program
The Commonwealth of Kentucky instituted an Ignition Interlock Program to deter repeat DUI offenders. The Ignition Interlock Program requires a person to obtain court approval to apply for an Ignition Interlock License and Device (IID), pay a non-refundable fee, provide proof of insurance, and provide valid vehicle registration.
Get Started Today
Breathe Easy Insurance can assist you with all of your insurance and licensing needs. Whether you are looking for a certified IID provider in Kentucky or need assistance with enrolling in an alcohol treatment program, our knowledgeable agents can help. We strive to provide a one-stop-shop for our clients. Let us provide you a free insurance quote today — Contact Breathe Easy at 866.822.7755.
Penalties for DUI Conviction
|Jail Time||48 hours to 30 days||7 days to 6 months||10 days to 12 months|
|Community Labor||May participate in community labor program instead of fine or imprisonment||7 days to 6 months||10 days to 12 months|
|Fine(s)||$200 to $500||$350 to $500||$500 to $1,000|
|Driver's License Suspension||30 to 120 days||12 to 18 months||24 to 36 months|
Get your Free Kentucky SR-22 Quote Today
Are you ready to get back on the road and get your life back? Breathe Easy Insurance is here to help. Our highly-trained staff will help you understand the license reinstatement process. No matter what the circumstances of your license suspension, our agents can help you. We know that this can be a stressful and overwhelming time; let us make it easier with a free online quote. Get started today!