DUI Reporting Requirements in California
A new law went into effect in California on January 1, 2007. This law indicates that a DUI will stay on a driver’s record for 10 years. The new state law was the result of the passage of the Insurance Code Senate Bill 597, passed in 2005, and the state law simply brings the laws of California in line with requirements of the Senate Bill. Prior to the implementation of the state law on January 1, 2007, a DUI remained on one’s driving record for seven years after the conviction occurred. The 10 year reporting requirement applies to all non-commercial drivers, regardless of whether they maintain a clean driving record after the DUI conviction.
The Good Driver Discount
This reportability law indicates that a driver does not qualify for a “good driver” insurance discount for 10 years after he was convicted of a DUI. In fact, drivers who had been convicted of a DUI, but that offense was removed from their driving records based on the previous reporting requirements, would have the DUI reappear back on their records as the result of implementation of Senate Bill 597. If a driver received a good driver discount with his insurance carrier based on good driving habits, but he had a DUI within the past 10 years, that discount was eliminated when the new California law went into effect.
Which DUI Offenses Report for 10 Years?
DUI violations under the California Vehicle Code, sections 23140, 23152, or 23153 will report on a driver’s history for 10 years. However, other violations, such as a Wet Reckless, will report to the courts and law enforcement for 10 years, but will be on public reports for only seven years.
The Cost of Insurance After a DUI
If you are arrested for or convicted of a DUI offense in California, you will be required to carry a high risk policy and produce an SR22 certificate to be filed with the DMV for a minimum of three years. However, your insurance rates may continue to be higher than those for a non-high risk driver for as long as the DUI remains on your driving report. This essentially means that you may be paying higher rates for the full 10 years after the DUI.
For the first three years after a DUI, you must file the Safety Responsibility, or SR22, certificate with the DMV. The SR22 is a document that certifies that you maintain financial responsibility as a high risk driver. If your insurance is cancelled or you are dropped for any reason, your insurance carrier is required to file an SR26 with the DMV stating that your insurance is no longer valid. Once this filing occurs, your license is automatically suspended.
If your insurance carrier has dropped you or your policy has lapsed due to non-payment, you must obtain an approved policy as soon as possible and re-file the SR22 to qualify to have your license reinstated. If you are searching for cheap SR22 insurance due to a DUI or an insurance cancellation, Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions may be able to assist you.
Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions
Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions specializes in finding low rates for California drivers who need to file an SR22. Our customer service representatives look high and low to find affordable rates for those with less than perfect driving histories. We understand that getting a DUI can affect the cost of your auto insurance for years to come, so we work with you to help you locate the best rates available for your unique situation.
Our friendly customer service representatives are available 24/7 to discuss your situation and provide you with a free, no obligation SR22 insurance quote. Call 866.822.7755 to speak directly with a representative or use the convenient contact form on the Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions website to request your free quote. Once you select your policy, we will electronically file your SR22 with the DMV.