NEW MEXICO SR22 INSURANCE
New Mexico is one of six states that do not require SR22 insurance following a license revocation or suspension for certain offenses. It is important to remember that if you move to a state that requires SR22 insurance, you may have to file it pursuant to its laws. An SR22 form provides a state with proof of future financial responsibility. The most common reason that a person would have to file an SR22 form is for a license suspension related to driving under the influence (DUI).
Insurance Requirements in New Mexico
While the Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) of New Mexico does not require an SR22 certificate of insurance to be filed, they do require all drivers to “to operate their motor vehicles with a minimum of liability auto insurance.” The mandatory minimum insurance liability coverage limits are:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 property damage
If you fail to maintain proof of the required liability insurance, you may receive a Notice of Noncompliance by the MVD, and they will suspend your vehicle registration. To reinstate your vehicle registration, you will have to provide proof of insurance and pay a reinstatement fee.
GET QUOTE TODAY
Need SR22 Insurance?
New Mexico Drunk Driving Penalties
In New Mexico, it is unlawful to drive while under the influence of an intoxicating liquor or drug (DWI). If convicted of a first offense DWI, you may face:
- A fine of up to $500
- 90-day jail sentence
- Community service
- State-approved DWI school
- Ignition Interlock Requirement
- License Suspension
On a second or subsequent DWI conviction, the court may require you to enroll in and complete an inpatient or outpatient treatment program. While the legal drunk-driving limit is 0.08 percent breath or blood alcohol concentration, you can still be convicted of a DWI if your breath or blood test is under the legal limit. A prosecutor must show that the substance you consumed impaired your ability to drive a car.
New Mexico Ignition Interlock Requirements
The State of New Mexico can require all drivers convicted of DWI to install an ignition interlock device (IID) as a condition of their probation. If you are convicted of a fourth or subsequent DWI, you may be required to install an ignition interlock device for life. To apply for an ignition interlock device, you must obtain an ignition interlock license through the MVD. In addition to a reinstatement fee, you must provide a copy of the ignition interlock provider contract, submit evidence of insurance, and file a notarized Affidavit for Ignition Interlock License. If caught driving a vehicle without an IID installed after being ordered to, you could face jail time, a high fine, immobilization of your vehicle, and a license revocation.
Penalties for DUI Conviction
|Jail Time||Up to 90 days||96 hours to 364 days||30 to 364 days||18 months||2 years||30 months||3 years||12 years|
|Fine(s)||$300 to $500||$500 to $1,000||$750 to $1,000||Up to $5,000||Up to $5,000||Up to $5,000||Up to $5,000||Up to $10,000|
|Community Service||At least 24 hours||At least 40 hours||At least 96 hours||-||-||-||-||-|
|Driver's License Suspension||6 months||1 years||1 year||1 year||1 year||1 year||1 year||1 year|
Contact Breathe Easy Insurance Today
If your license was suspended due to a New Mexico DWI, Breathe Easy may be able to help. Our knowledgeable agents can assist you in finding a court-approved DWI School or certified Ignition Interlock Providers in addition to all of your insurance needs. We offer competitive rates for standard and non-standard markets. Let us save you money. Contact Breathe Easy today at 866.822.7755 for more information.