The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (NJ MVC) requires the filing of an SR22 certificate of insurance in order to restore your driving privileges under a number of situations. This proof of financial responsibility generally must be kept on file for three (3) years. The most common reason for having to submit proof of financial responsibility to the NJMVC is due to a license suspension related to Driving Under the Influence (DUI). You may also be required to file an SR22 if you were involved in an accident without the proper insurance coverage or failed to provide proof of insurance to a law enforcement officer.
New Jersey Insurance Requirements
Under New Jersey law, every owner or registered owner of an automobile registered or garaged in the state must maintain motor vehicle liability insurance coverage. The mandatory minimum liability limits for New Jersey are:
- $15,000 for one person in any one accident (bodily injury)
- $30,000 for more than one person in any one accident
- $5,000 for damages to property in any one accident
Failure to maintain mandatory liability coverage can result in fines, increased insurance premiums, community service, and a subsequent license suspension.
GET QUOTE TODAY
Need SR22 Insurance?
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in New Jersey
Likely the most common reason for having to file proof of financial responsibility (SR22) is for a license suspension related to Driving Under the Influence (DUI). Also referred to as Driving While Intoxicated (DWI), driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs can have a significant impact on nearly every aspect of your life. Sanctions for a first offense DUI include fines of $250-$400, 30-day jail sentence, license suspension, compulsory alcohol education program, and an insurance surcharge of $1,000 a year for three (3) years.
Installing an Ignition Interlock Device (IID)
To get your license reinstated following a suspension for driving under the influence, the court may require you to install an ignition interlock device (IID). If you are ordered by a judge to install an IID, your license will not be restored until you have fully complied with the court order. Failure to comply with a court order could result in additional sanctions, including an additional driving privilege suspension.
|Jail Time||Up to 30 days||Up to 30 days||48 hours to 90 days||180 day minimum|
|Fine(s)||$250 to $400||$300 to $500||$300 to $500||$1,000|
|Community Service||-||-||30 days||30 days|
|Driver's License Suspension||Until IID installation||Until IID installation||1 to 2 years||8 years|
Get Started Today!
Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions is here to help you get back on the road. No matter what the circumstances of your case, our knowledgeable, highly-trained staff can help. We offer affordable SR-22 options. See why we are America's SR-22 Insurance Experts. We can assist you with all of your insurance and IID needs, from filing your proof of financial responsibility in seconds to finding a state-approved IID provider. Contact Breathe Easy Insurance today at (866) 822- 7755 to get started.