MISSISSIPPI SR22 INSURANCE
Obtaining High-Risk Insurance (SR22) in Mississippi
Mississippi House Bill 548 was an act established requiring drivers whose license was suspended under the implied consent laws to file an SR22 certificate with the Department of Public Safety (DPS). Additionally, the act requires an SR22 certificate to be provided if “an individual operating an automobile caused damages in an amount over five hundred dollars and did not have sufficient insurance.”
An SR22 certificate of insurance provides the Mississippi DPS with proof of financial responsibility and must be maintained for a minimum of three (3) years. Under Mississippi law, all drivers are required to maintain mandatory minimum liability coverage in the amount of:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 property damage per accident
GET QUOTE TODAY
Need SR22 Insurance?
Failure to maintain adequate insurance can result in a fine of up to $1,000 on a first offense and suspension of your driving privileges for a minimum of one (1) year.
Mississippi Drunk Driving Laws
Mississippi’s implied consent law is codified under Mississippi Code § 63-11-30, which states that it is unlawful for a person to drive under the influence of alcohol, a substance that causes impairment or with a blood alcohol level of 0.08 percent or higher. A person convicted of a first offense DUI in Mississippi will have to pay a fine of $250 to $1,000, could face up to 48 hours in jail, or compulsory attendance at a victim impact panel must complete an alcohol safety education program and will have their driving privileges suspended. If convicted of a second or subsequent drunk driving charge in Mississippi, a person could face fines up to $10,000 and multiple years in jail.
Depending on the circumstances of the case, a person convicted of a drunk driving charge may be eligible for a restricted license with the installation of an ignition interlock device (IID). A court may order the compulsory installation of an ignition interlock device under Mississippi's Ignition Interlock Program.
Mississippi’s Ignition Interlock Program
Mississippi Code § 63-11-31 authorizes a court to order the installation of an ignition interlock device at their discretion. The ignition interlock device (IID) must be installed for a minimum of six (6) months after the reinstatement of driving privileges on all vehicles registered to the offender. An IID is a car breathalyzer connected to the ignition system. A person must provide a breath sample in order to start the ignition. If the breath sample exceeds the calibration setting limit set by the court (not less than 0.02 percent and not more than 0.04 percent), then the vehicle will not start. A person ordered to install an IID may not tamper with the device and must provide proof of installation.
PENALTIES FOR DUI CONVICTION
|Jail Time||48 hours maximum||5 days to 6 months||1 to 5 years||2 to 10 years|
|Fine(s)||$250 to $1,000||$600 to $5,000||$2,000 to $5,000||$3,000 to $10,000|
|Driver's License Suspension||120 days||1 year||Full period of sentence; eligible for IID restricted license for 3 years||Full period of sentence; eligible for IID restricted license for 10 years|
Get Your Missississippi SR22 Insurance Quote
Has your license been suspended because of a Mississippi DUI? Do you need help getting your driving privileges reinstated and getting back on the road? Our experienced SR22 agents can help. Find out why the agents at Breathe Easy Insurance are America's SR22 Insurance Experts. We understand that this can be a stressful time for you and your family. Let our knowledgeable team find you affordable SR22 coverage, find a state-approved alcohol education program, and assist with a certified IID provider. Our agents are standing by – call Breathe Easy today at 866.822.7755