MICHIGAN SR22 INSURANCE
If you lose your license because of an alcohol-related driving offense or a financial-responsibility judgment, you may be required to file an SR22 form with the Secretary of State (SOS). In Michigan, the Secretary of State has the right to revoke a person’s driving privileges for a number of reasons. An SR22 form provides proof of future financial responsibility and indicates that you will carry the mandatory minimum liability coverage required by law.
In addition to being required to file an SR22 after an alcohol-related driving offense such as Operating While Intoxicated (OWI) or Operating While Visibly Impaired (OWVI), you may be required to obtain a financial-responsibility restricted driver license. This requirement is usually the result of someone driving without proper insurance and being involved in an at-fault accident.
Under Michigan law, there are two forms of financial responsibility insurance: Owner's and Operator's. If you are required to obtain financial responsibility insurance, you can purchase one or both depending on if you want to insure any vehicle registered in your name (Owner's) or only you (Operator's). You can also obtain a policy that covers both. In most cases, you will have to keep the SR22 form on file for a minimum of three (3) years.
GET QUOTE TODAY
Need SR22 Insurance?
Michigan Mandatory Minimum Insurance Coverage
Michigan requires drivers to carry minimum liability insurance coverage. The mandatory minimum liability limits are:
- $20,000 bodily injury per person
- $40,000 bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 property damage
Failure to maintain the appropriate insurance coverage can result in a civil lawsuit where you could be held personally liable. Additionally, you could face a criminal conviction resulting in a fine of up to $500, up to one (1) year in jail or both.
Alcohol-Related Driving Offenses in Michigan
According to Michigan state law, you can be charged with Operating While Visibly Impaired (OWVI) even if your blood alcohol content is under 0.08 percent. If convicted of an OWVI, you could face a fine, jail time, vehicle immobilization, and community service. In addition, your license could be suspended for up to 90 days, and you could receive four points on your driving record.
Operating While Intoxicated (OWI) is a more serious offense with harsher penalties. If convicted of a first offense OWI, you could face a fine of $100 to $500, up to 93 days in jail, up to 360 hours of community service, a 30-day driver's license suspension followed by a 150-day license restriction, possible vehicle immobilization, ignition interlock installation and up to six points on your driving record.
If your license is suspended because of an OWVI or OWI, you will likely have to pay a reinstatement fee and file an SR22 form.
Michigan Ignition Interlock Requirements
The Secretary of State requires all repeat OWI offenders to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle if they have had:
- “Two or more alcohol-related convictions within 7 years.
- Three or more alcohol-related convictions within 10 years.
- Three or more convictions for driving while your license is suspended or revoked in 7 years, if those convictions resulted in mandatory additional suspensions or revocations.”
Habitual Offenders automatically have their driving privileges revoked by the Secretary of State. If eligible for a restricted license, the habitual offender must install a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) on any vehicle they own or operate.
CALL BREATHE EASY TODAY FOR A FREE MICHIGAN SR22 QUOTE
Was your license suspended or revoked in the State of Michigan? Breathe Easy can help. Contact our leading SR22 agents today for a free insurance quote. Our staff can assist you with all of your licensing and insurance needs. Whether you need to install a BAIID, find a court-approved treatment program, or simply determine the status of your license, we can help. Call Breathe Easy today at 866.822.7755.